SOCCER MOMMY Shares New Song via NPR, Announces Mini-Album out 8/4 on Fat Possum

Soccer Mommy - the project of nineteen-year-old Nashville native, NYU student and musical wunderkind Sophie Allison - has built a reputation as an incredibly exciting DIY artist, recording her own songs and releasing them for free on Bandcamp over the last few years. Today, Soccer Mommy announces that she has signed withFat Possum Records and will release a mini-album entitled Collection on August 4th. Comprising of reworked versions of some of her best Bandcamp releases, as well as a few new songs written, mixed and produced by Sophie herself, Collection is the perfect introduction to Soccer Mommy's sound: quietly catchy, surprisingly confrontational, the kind of music that sneaks up on you and makes a permanent first impression. Pre-order Collection HERE.

Listen to the first new song "Out Worn" - a relatable, anthemic and overall searing takedown of the desire for male validation - via NPR's Songs We Love HERE.

Photo Credit: Ebru Yildiz

Photo Credit: Ebru Yildiz

The songs on Collection portray an artist fully-formed, mature far beyond her age. Sophie sings of toxic relationships, infatuations, and all the experiences of being a teenage girl. There's a freedom and a joy to this music, and Collection stands as an excellent introduction to a powerful new voice. Critics may decry the end of guitar music, same as they have for over thirty years. The fact remains that as long as records like Collection exist, there will be no shortage of young artists bashing their hearts out on guitars for years to come. These perfect pop gems have power, and Collection is destined to be a favorite record.

Track listing:

1. Allison

2. Try

3. Death By Chocolate

4. Out Worn

5. 3am At A Party

6. Inside Out

7. Benadryl Dreams

8. Waiting For Cars