Mark McGuire Shares Serene "Beginning of Winter" Video - New Album Ideas of Beginnings Out 6/2 on VDSQ

Mark McGuire has shared a new video for “Beginning of Winter,” a highlight from his upcoming album Ideas of Beginnings, out June 2nd on VDSQ. The track exemplifies the guitarist’s stripped back approach on the new album, forgoing the expansive sound he has explored on other recent solo outings in favor of the simple arrangements allowed by his guitar and trusted looping pedal. The result is some of his most direct and emotionally impactful work to date. McGuire is seen playing guitar in the video, overlaid with imagery of a lush green forest that slowly fades into a gentle, but steady, snowfall. NPR premiered the video this morning.

Pre-order Ideas of Beginnings via VDSQ:

Mark McGuire reminds us why he is among the most beloved guitarists of our new age. McGuire returns to VDSQ with a beautiful album of fractal introspection, a succinct collection of deeply melodic and emotive themes. Ideas of Beginnings is a direct statement of modern guitar, running the gamut from brightly focused acoustic compositions to late night electric vapor trails. Ideas of Beginnings is another highlight from this iconic 21st Century guitarist.

Mark McGuire first came to national prominence as one third of legendary drone/psychedelic collective Emeralds and quickly ignited a new movement of New Age transcendence in American underground music. In 2009 Mark released his first solo album, VDSQ Solo Acoustic Vol. 2 to wide acclaim. Since then, Mark has released albums on Editions Mego, Dead Oceans and toured the world several times. Having reached a status as a contemporary guitar legend its with great joy we find his return to VDSQ in 2017 with Ideas of Beginnings.

Mark McGuire – Ideas of Beginnings

(June 2nd, VDSQ)

1.    Beginner

2.    The Girls

3.    Skipping Stones

4.    Smile From Up North

5.    Late Summer Early Evening

6.    The Clock Strikes With Soft Rain

7.    Serpent Mount Coyote Song

8.    To Continue

9.    Beginning Of Winter

10. By The Light Of The Freezing Pond

11.  Eleven Sevens